32| Getting Dean Back

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Sam, Bobby, my mom and I were at the morgue, getting a look at some of the bodies the cops had found dumped at the train tracks.

"These are just some of the victims," the coroner told us. "More are in the hall, a couple in the store room... we don't usually see this kind of action in Duluth."

"The injuries are all pretty uniform?" my mom asked.

"Yep. The boys upstairs think maybe we're looking at a spree killer."

"If they were DOA, you have an ETA on TOD?" Bobby questioned. "Any sample DFA?"

Sam cleared his throat behind him.

"DNA?" Bobby corrected himself.

"Uh, frankly we don't even know the precise cause of death. I mean, there were the neck wounds of course, but there was also considerable internal trauma, so-" the corner's phone rang, cutting her off. "Excuse me."

"Yeah. Sure," I nodded, then turned to Bobby when she'd left. "DFA?"

"I've been fighting a friggin' apocalypse for fifteen years, my FBI might be a little rusty."

"Alright," I rolled my eyes.

"Let's give them a quick once-over, see what they missed," Sam said.

Putting on gloves, we split up to each look at a different body.

"Angel kills for sure, and not grunts," I said. "We're talking five star smitings."

"Knife slits in the throat, but it doesn't look like they bled out," Bobby added.

"He kept these people alive for a while," my mom continued.

Sam peered into the mouth of his body.

"Maybe these people aren't people," he said. "Looking at a vamp."

"Same here," Bobby.

"Me, too," my mom agreed.

"Yep," I nodded after checking myself.

"Why milk 'em if he's just gonna smite 'em?" Bobby queried.

"And why is an archangel hunting vampires in the first place?" my mom asked.