Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

"Hey! HEY!"

I jerked, alarm shocking me awake and I instinctively punched upwards. A grunt of pain made me open my eyes and I stared, startled, at a shocked Minho with his hand over his cheek.

"Oh god - sorry Minho - did I punch you?" I babbled as Minho removed his hand to reveal a dark purplish-red bruise. "Shit, I'm sorry," I said again.

"That's alright." Minho winced, rubbing his newly formed bruise. "Not bad for a newbie."

I huffed. "Need I remind you that I have been living in the Glade for almost three years? I'm NOT a newbie. Now, what did you wake me up for?"

"Gathering of the Keepers," said Minho, his smile slowly fading. "Go style your hair or whatever girls do and meet me at the Homestead."

As he jogged off, I yawned and reluctantly stood up. The bathrooms were more crowded than I was used to and I had to shove my way through.

After brushing my teeth, I limped as quickly as I could to the Homestead where Minho was already waiting. He opened the door and went in, clearly meaning for me to follow him.

I wondered what had Minho so serious and a feeling of unease bubbled up in my stomach. Back in 'my Glade', we only had Keeper meetings for urgent matters, and judging from the similarities, the boys wouldn't do it much differently here.

Minho led me past the rooms closer to the entrance of the Homestead and into a larger one that I hadn't noticed before. He opened the door and I walked in, immediately coughing from the dust in the air.

A clump of boys were organizing chairs around the room into a semicircle arranged so they were surrounding two chairs in the center. Minho pointed to one, looking at me, and I sat down. This was insane. What was I doing here? I wasn't a Keeper, at least not here.

Another boy sat down next to me, but I didn't look at him. Instead, I started fiddling with the hem of my shirt, avoiding everyone's eyes, only looking up when Alby started talking.