Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

I don't think about my father's death very often. More often, I think about the consequences of it. His brain tumor, built of cells that divide too much, may have filled his head more but it emptied our lives. My siblings were sent to boarding schools. My mother stopped talking to Stéphane for a year while he fought for custody. Stéphane cried over voicemails she left him, deleting them against my advice. The anger Caro had toward Seb for wanting to stay in New Hampshire leaked onto me. I'm amazed any of us talk at all.

Now, I'm acutely aware the others on my team are field agents. I don't know all that much about their past lives, but I wonder about them while we wait together. Morgan isn't here yet, but every one else is cramped in a narrow hospital hallway. I'm not very good at profiling, but other than Reid, I'm the only one sitting down. We are next to each other. His hands are folded in his lap, his head is tilted down, and if I had only met him here, I might think Reid was praying.

They may be field agents, used to doing things like these, but so am I. I've been in hospitals before. I know how much I cannot do for Penelope. They are operating on her, somewhere deeper in the bowels of the hospital.

"You okay?" I whisper the question to Reid, staring at his red hands, clasped tightly together.

He nods. Reid looks up, turns his cheek toward me so only I can hear his voice.

It comes out like a squeak, "I'm just worried about her."