2. Code Blue

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Grayson

As a police officer, I've seen a lot of shit in the past four years. I've seen the worst in some people, a lot of bad accidents and circumstances, pure evil monstrosities where bodies were involved in a pool of blood. While some days are harder than others, four years on the force hardened me against the harsh realities, like an emotional set of armor.

All those years of hardened resolve were shattered the instant two bullets pierced through the body of the woman I love.

My mind is going crazy from what little sleep I don't get. A recurring nightmare makes me feel as if I am stuck on a carousel, going round and round on the highest frequency. The same dream resurfaces when I close my eyes; it's never-ending. Each time the carousel circles, I see red... blotches and blotches of red.

The same red that had stained Emery's white top when she was shot. The same blood red that coated my hands.

When we get to the hospital, Emery is rushed into surgery. Bridgette, Miles, and I stand hopelessly waiting in the emergency room lobby. A little girl walks by with her father and her bug eyes stare at my bloody hands.

The bloody hands from holding my girlfriend while she was bleeding out in front of me.

She's lost so much blood because the bullets went right into her abdomen but never came out. In the first surgery, the doctors manage to get them out, but her internal bleeding prompts another emergency surgery.

After the second surgery, I run to the bathroom, where I wince at my horror-stricken reflection in the mirror.

I look like a walking crime scene.

My hair is a mess and rustled. Blood speckles across my boxed-beard and my lungs cave in.I try to gasp for air, noticing the copious amounts of blood on my clothes and hands.