11 - The difficult kind

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

"You behave like a civilian!" I snap at her.

"Yeah," she agrees. "That's what I am at the moment."

Gabriel is outright annoying. Just as if we weren't speaking the same language.

"And that's what I plan to remain, too," she goes on. "So will you please stop behaving like a total amateur, and advise your tactical unit friends against taking notes about me? I'm just an innocent kindergarten teacher, accidentally involved in your heroic showdown with an unknown armed asset, who wanted to destroy these beautiful marble statues for no reason, and that's it."

"Consider it done," I assure her. "But you should come with me."

"I won't."

"But you must," I insist. "And, by the way, I have the means to make you."

"Then how are you better than Mint, again?" she asks.

She's infuriating. Now I hate her sense of logic. The same one I loved so much in the past.

"I just want to take you to safety," I tell her, looking her deep in the eyes.

"No, you want to have my brain for your purposes. But your purposes aren't my purposes anymore."

She's totally inflexible. It seems I have to give her details to convince her. It's something I wanted to avoid because the last thing I need is a panicking woman by my side.

"Listen, Gabriel," I whisper to her. "I don't want to scare you, but the world is in danger. There is a virus."

"Yeah, I've heard the news," she answers.

"Okay. That's precisely what I want you to warn about. The news is lying."