17 - When the levee breaks

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Stupid woman.

I want to beat some sense into her and hug her at the same time.

She's so stubborn and weird.

But, on the other hand, just standing by her side and looking at her feels like home.

It hurts me to see her so upset. I wish I could touch her hand and calm her. That always works with other women, and, believe me, I've had my fair share of volunteers to refine the method. I'm an expert in being gentle and firm at the same time.

But I'm afraid it would only make things worse. She doesn't like to be touched without warning. Or even after a warning, from what I've noticed. But it might just be Mint she hates. That would be logical of her. She is the most rational person in the world, after all.

So it's decided. It's just Mint.

Still, I don't dare to try, but at least I take the child from her hands. She will have a delayed onset muscle soreness from rocking such a big boy for such a long time, I'm afraid.

She allows me, and she also tells me that he's called Tobey. I think that's a good sign. She trusts me with one of her lambs, as if we were a family. Mother, father, and... a lamb. Or two? Okay, let's not go into unnecessary details. It's confusing.

Her classroom seems like a cozy place. The furniture is arranged in a special way, and I'm a hundred percent sure that it's the safest place in the country for children. I nod appreciatively. Gabriel notices, and she rewards me with a faint little smile.

I almost drop poor Tobey. It feels like being in one of those movies, all slow-motion, in a very long, miraculously extended, meaningful moment. Not in one of those stupid Bonds, where bullets fly for minutes so that they can duck them, rather in an even more stupid romance, where people just look at each other, and their fate is intertwined for eternity.

"Nice place. I bet the kiddos like it here."