27 - Just a girl

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

I'm studying random survival techniques.

It's a fascinating field of research. Very upsetting, too. You can't calculate shit. I'm not sure what I should compare this to, but I imagine it like driving a sports car, full speed, blindfolded.

Nicole is a black belt grandmaster of this mysterious knowledge. I try to spend as much time with her as possible to get closer to her secret, but, for some reason, being studied makes her anxious.

So I decided that we were friends. It seemed easier than to explain the urgent necessity of providing me with the necessary data for science and the greater good. As I've never had a friend, our relationship is another exciting area to examine, not a simple waste of my time.

Nicole seems to like the idea of us being friends. Or, at least, she didn't protest. We're going to the movies today. That's what friends do, apparently.

I hate movies. But I won't watch it, anyway. I'll watch her.

"You're staring me in the eyes," Nicole tells me while we're waiting for the movie to start, with popcorn in our hands.

"Thank you."

"It makes me a bit uncomfortable," she says.

"I trained myself for years to keep eye contact," I inform her. "It's a major achievement."

"Is it? Okay."

"I can't turn it on and off," I apologize.

"Oh. Stare away, then. I'll get used to it."

"You can tell me to look somewhere else, specifically," I offer. "I can do that."

"No, don't worry about it. At least I feel that someone's paying me attention."

"Many people are paying you attention, Nicole."

"I don't think so."