4: You Are My Sunshine

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Mary enjoyed her time at SHIELD. Despite her being on probation and a newbie being scrutinized by Fury and Coulson, (Coulson often referred to her as the hot-headed tiny demon, due to her fiery personality and lack of height,) she had fun hanging out with Clint and testing Richard's patience. Everyone was a lot more welcoming than back in Russia, so she was revelling in the simple joys of life. And food. The food was always amazing.

"Hey, Richie," she began one afternoon, poking a toothpick in and out of a Bunsen burner, "shouldn't you be in school?"

He casually switched the burner off, smirking slightly at her offended expression. "I graduated."

"Then shouldn't you be in college, smart-pants?" She retaliated by throwing the toothpick at the back of his head. 

"Graduated that too. Left High school at 15, did college as fast as possible and got myself here."

"Smarty-pants indeed." She had somehow gotten her hands on another toothpick and was sticking that in the flame again. Richard rolled his eyes, having given up. If she burnt her fingers, she burnt her fingers. Her problem, not his.

Mary didn't. Despite being a bit reckless, to say the least, she was still careful with the fire. She didn't stop until Richard began to put all his equipment away. "Wait where are you going?"

"My dad wants my brother and I to go out with him for dinner." He switched off the lights, grabbing the door handle. "Which means you need to come out. You're not allowed in here unsupervised."

"Ha, imagine having a family." Mary hopped off her usual seat on the benchtop and walked past Richard, laughing inwardly at his concerned face.

"You need to see a therapist," he said, locking the door behind them.

"Oh I know."

"SHIELD has some pretty good ones. I could take you."