9.Talking Stage

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Sacred The Thread // Greta Van Fleet

Day two of having my kid in town and I'm called into work. I'd planned to take some time off, at least during this first visit, but Javier called off sick as a dog. Some kind of food poisoning. So here I am, making sure my team is on point and covering every angle. I took The Kid's post instead of shifting people around. He was slated to work stage side on Citizen One duty. We have specified details for each performer and The Kid's assignment was Ryan fucking Christiansen.

I am a professional, so I stuff the image of Ryan leering at Colleen's tits as far down as I can. It doesn't help that I'm picturing shoving it down his throat. At least it puts a smile on my face. I'll count that as a win, for now.

C1 wraps up their set and barrels off stage in a rush. Alex and Seth shoulder punch me as they pass. Jace is business as usual, meaning he avoids eye-contact. He has ever since Curt made his thinly veiled threats at their last court date. He hasn't been the same since. I should really pull him aside and have a chat, reassure him that we've got his back.

I'm concerned about Jace but not so caught up in my worries about him that I miss Ryan's approach. Unlike the others who clearly had places to go, he saunters his way toward me like a guy with all the time in the world, dripping sweat post performance. The smirk on his face tightens my jaw. He wipes his hands on his dark jeans before pulling his charcoal t-shirt away from his body to allow some cool air to hit his skin. If I was a chick, I have no doubt he'd pull the thing completely off just to show his abs but since I'm a guy he keeps it on. I look away regardless.

"You look like a man with an ax to grind," Ryan spins the cord to his earpiece. "And I bet you'd like to grind it right between my eyes."

I remain unaffected as possible when I speak. "Just doing my job."