27 - Passcode, Heist Mode

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

'Are you sure this is where he keeps it?'

'Positive,' I whispered to Aar as I looked at the safe and tried to think of a possible password. We only had three strikes, after which an alarm would go off, alerting the servants, whom we had barely evaded while getting to Uncle's room. 'I've seen him taking the amulet out and putting it in here many times.'

'Well, what're you waiting for, hurry up. Bee is dying.'

'Hush. Lemme think. I'm not a professional robber, you know.'

'Urgh, listen,' said Aar, utterly disregarding what I'd just told him. 'If this doesn't work, we'll go by ourselves, alright? We can't hang on account of Niffy.'

'I thought you liked Niffy.'

'Of course I do, what're you saying?'

'Then why do you want to leave her behind?'

'BEE. IS. POSSIBLY. DEAD.'

'Sorry. My bad.'

It was supposed to be a twelve-letter passcode, and I could not think of anything. So I just put in

"C-H-E-E-S-E A-N-D D-I-P"

-counting the letters inside my head and hoping I got the math right, but it didn't work. The electronic screen tinged a little, then calmed down. A single red cross appeared on top of the screen, and stayed.

If Bee were here, she'd crack the safe in a millisecond, probably. She always figures stuff out, I don't know.

But her not being here is the reason we're doing this.

We needed an amulet for Niffy to accompany us to Lakoswanion, and Mr. Om's was locked inside this idiotic metal box.

'Tsk, let me try,' said Aar, impatiently pushing me aside. I saw his fingers move over the passcode screen real fast, like a spider learning disco, and another red cross joined the previous one.

'What did you insert?' I asked.

'O-L-D G-R-U-M-P-Y F-A-R-T,' answered Aar.

'What?! That isn't twelve letters, that's thirteen! How'd you even put it in?'

'I misspelled grumpy,' Aar said slowly.

'You just wasted an attempt!'

'I tried! You're welcome!'