11: Not-quite-working Woman

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

I'm starting to think that the money isn't worth all this.

I imagined my first day to be easy where Brandon would just show me the ropes. Unfortunately, since I have zero experience, Brandon's uncle- or Mr.Rubio- thought it fit to put me on busboy duty.

Or is it busgirl now?

Either way, I wasn't happy.

"How's it going?" Brandon strolls over to me and helps me clear the table.

"Bad. Why do people eat like animals?" I whine, wiping the ketchup off the table.

"Sometimes people drop things. It's only human."

I sigh because I know he's right. Hell, I've spilt a million things on tables and haven't thought twice about them.

"How long did you have to do this?"

"Uh, actually since this is my uncle's place and all, I directly started as a waiter." Brandon actually looks guilty about this and he quickly adds, "But don't worry, Liza was promoted to waiter in a week. So you don't have to wait for that long."

I nod, trying not to look as dejected as I feel.

"Well, I'm going to get back to it. See you later." I say and shuffle away from Brandon.

Nothing about this situation was ideal. I had to report to work at 11, which means I have to get up way earlier than what I'm used to. I'm a growing teenager and I need my rest.

I, also, get no tips. So, I have to survive on my meagre salary and when I say meagre, I mean meagre.

Not to forget, I'm still nursing a killer headache. I can only hope that Mr.Rubio doesn't see me as some kind of unreliable, drunk teenager.

I work diligently for a couple of hours, silently cursing my luck the entire time. I was trying to stuff the broom back in the tiny closet when Brandon calls out to me.

When I was trying to stuff the broom in the tiny closet, Brandon calls out to me.

He leads me to a booth and I follow him, perplexed until I see who's seated there.