24. shadow clone jutsu

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

"You're gonna laugh," Shao said.

Taeyong shrugged. "Probably."

"Way to go, nice guy," she muttered, rolling her eyes. "Okay. I used to work in a circus."

He smiled. "Why am I not surprised?"

"Well, aren't you the jester?" she asked drily, then cleared her throat. Taeyong pushed his elbows against the back of the couch and leaned back, keeping his eyes on her. "I was a trapeze artist up until I was sixteen. I had a partner and stuff, it was all super professional and nothing like they show on TV. We had these caravans and all this equipment, and we did everything according to protocol. If something wasn't safe, it was fixed before the performer was allowed on."

"So what does that have to do with your scar?"

"I'm getting there." Her fingers played with the blindfold absentmindedly. She looked deep in thought, and Taeyong thought he noticed a slight apprehension in her tone whenever she spoke. "One day, despite the careful precautions, there was a fire."

"A fire?" He frowned, sitting up. "The scar doesn't look like a burn mark."

"Oh," Mark exclaimed, his head peeking out from the doorway of the kitchen. "I bet it was the lion or the tiger or something. Maybe, like, the fire melted their cages and they attacked her or—"

Shao stared at him in disbelief. "You were listening in the whole time?"

Mark looked back, embarrassed and at a loss for words. "Um—"

"Never mind," she said, shaking her head, but there was a tiny smile on her face. "And no, it isn't a burn mark, and it wasn't the tiger."

"So you guys did have a tiger, then. I'm an oracle."

"An oracle tells the future, Mark," Taeyong said monotonously, but there was no malice in his tone.