(15) An Intense Gamble

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Was it possible for your life to flash before your eyes when someone else was in danger?

She just rushed right in. Koto didn't even take a moment to explain what her plan was before she acted. I felt ridiculous, standing behind a wall while she risked her life. She shouldn't have to be on constant guard, even with her Hero license. The moment either happened in the span of two seconds or two hours, but I couldn't decide which one.

When it was over, I thought my legs would give out. I had been scared during villain attacks before (I was a UA student after all,) but this was different. This was worse.

Koto signed, but my mind wasn't in it yet. I felt my eyes involuntarily twitch and the sting followed before I asked her.

"I'm sorry, what?"

Koto signed back with so much ease that I almost forgot the last few minutes occurred.

"I asked if you were ready to hit the arcade?"

Seconds more passed before I comprehended what she meant and broke the stare that soon grew awkward.

Like anyone trying to add onto the uncomfortable silence, I answered, "Yeah, I guess so."

We walked the remaining distance to the arcade. My heart was desperate to break out of my chest. My hands, shaky and clammy, tingled with the tics that itched through my nerves. I rubbed them against my jacket, using the friction to ease myself.

As Koto walked a few steps in front of me towards the arcade, I found myself keeping a close eye on her. I knew I had no rational reason to worry that she might leave again and not come back; still, I couldn't pull my eyes off her for even a short moment without the panic rushing back through my breath.