Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Chapter 26

As the dean of the department announced her name, Jess walked proudly across the stage to accept her diplomas. Her family cheered and she waved. She glanced skyward with a tear and a thought, I did it, Grandma Ann. I got my degrees and certification just like Grandpa. I hope you're proud of me.

As she made her way back to her seat, her rival for Valedictorian sneered at her, "Too bad you let your GPA slip."

"Too bad you only earned one masters," she snarked back.

"At least, you're not still a stripper anymore, Jezebel." He tried to insult her.

She smirked at him, "But you are still a virgin, Vincent." She flippantly tossed her hair with one hand then slipped a business card out of her phone case. "Be a doll and give this to your uncle. I don't think the mafia hires virgins; it's against their deal with the Catholic Church and the devil."

"Biyatch."

"Thank you, that's the nicest thing you've said to me all semester." She smiled beautifully as the third in their class sat down.

Reaching over, Ted took the card. "Noice. Did Andrew propose yet?"

"Not yet," Jess answered, ignoring Vincent's grumbling. "You still have a chance."

Ted rolled his eyes as he chuckled, "Nope, that man's only got eyes for you, but thanks for getting me an interview with Hastings Industries. I start in two weeks and I already found a place."

"Congrats. I'm glad they hired you," Jess responded.

"Why didn't you want the job?"

"Because I got hired by you-know-who like I wanted," Jess murmured as she glanced at Vincent to make certain he was ignoring them while texting on his phone.

Ted grinned, "That's awesome. Will you be moving north?"