Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Our footsteps echoed in the dark. For the nth time, I regretted not taking a torch from the sconces. The only thing warning me of Iruna's presence behind me was her labored breathing. Black leashed around my chest, squeezing my neck until there wasn't any air to reach my lungs. My own heartbeat pounded in my head, making blood swirl in and rush towards my limbs. Like it turned hyperactive after being inhibited for the longest time.

I looked behind me. Nothing but the darkness. Up north, the same scenery.

"You okay?" I asked Iruna whose presence was still heavy behind me.

Clothes rustled and soles tapped against the stone floor. Debris crunched beneath us. "Fine," she breathed. "I don't sense anyone behind us."

That's good. "How do you 'sense' a presence, anyway?" I wondered aloud. My voice bounced against the walls before the darkness gobbled it all up. "I'm still new to this whole magic thing, you see."

I could only imagine Iruna raising an eyebrow because of the inflection in her next statement. It could only have been intrigue. "How did you go so far in your career while being new?"

My shoulders jerked even though I was sure nobody would be there to see it. "Luck," I said. It's true. Everything I did and that happened to me in this world could all be ascribed to luck. Back then, I believed my destiny was something I could control. How did my mind change so much, to the point where I didn't even know who I was sharing a headspace with?

After I felt like I was walking in the dark for an hour, I stopped and turned. It was quiet. I strained my ears for any movement. "Iruna?" I called. No answer. What—

"I didn't think you'd make it this far," came Arzo's voice ringing from somewhere in the dark. My magic flared to life as my blade appeared in my hands. I turned. In the dark, it was impossible to tell which way was which. Where did I come from? Which direction was I going? Where was Arzo?