063:

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

******063:

We'd split up. I was with Kell, Marshall was greasing the government wheels and Matthew was on stand by in Mexico City for contingencies, also monitoring the cartels. How he did this, I'm not sure, but he had Robert De Marco's approval--- and that meant access to the whazoo super computer that had been Jared Patrick's.

We hired a taxi to take us to Senora Nemesio's hacienda in Tapeapulco. I expected scenery similar to Teotihuacan, jungly, desert. Pyramids and ruins, adobe, city, not sure what I was expecting.

The city was older than the areas of Mexico City I was familiar with. Trees lined the streets which were conveniently paved, or not depending on the mood it seemed. The water here was said to be contaminated and we were advised to drink only bottled water. Kell had brought ours from home. He didn't trust the vendors.

I studied the landscape as carefully as I could, looking for defenses, opposition. I figured both Maximiliano and Roberto would have guys guarding, or at least on the look out. But we saw no evidence of this.

However, it was a sleepy side of town, overgrown, and close knit. Her home was prestigious the way you might expect. More like my folks home, in the middle of someplace you wouldn't think it to be. It was unguarded.

Kell had cut his hair short. It was darker than I'd ever seen it and sleek, which I'd also never seen. He had a rat's nest the last time we were together. His facial hair was very--- typical, very Spanish if you must know, and his sunglasses labeled him the thug he was role playing. Except he reminded me: this wasn't play.

He kept saying it. This is serious. I've been involved with cartels before. Depending on who you're dealing with this could be serious.

Yeah. I get it.

And we were waltzing right in under the radar.