54 - Dancing with Death

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

Currently, I was with a nervous Horror located in front of a butcher and deli shop. Maxy's Meats, fun name. 

"Are you... sure about this?" Horror asked.

"Horror relax, I wouldn't do this if I wasn't sure. Let's just give it a try, yeah?" 

He sighed and nodded I'm agreement so we entered. A little bell above rang and a man looked up from some papers and immediately noticed Horror.  He was an older male, you could see the grays and wrinkles and was a bit on the smaller side. 

"Ah you must be Horror, interested in a job here right? And you must be the one I talked to on the phone, Error?" 

"That is correct."

"Good. I need someone that can really chop into these things. I'm getting older and can do the Deli section just fine. You look a bit... well worse for wear. Are you able to cut this cleanly?" He gestured to something on a table, I couldn't tell what type of animal it was since I'm not a meat expert, and Horror wandered behind while I stayed in the front on the other side of the glass.

He poked the thing a few times and the owner turned to me with an unsure expression. 

"It's nice of you to look for jobs for your friends but are you sure-"

THUD

We both jumped and looked over seeing that Horror cleanly chopped the meat in half with one of the large cleavers and looked over at us. 

"It was a bit frozen in the middle..." 

".....I see. Welcome aboard Horror." They shook hands making it official.

After that we headed back to the house. Yeah, I've been helping with the whole job search thing. Not everyone was doing something but we are trying. Horror expressed that he wanted to be involved so I found an opening that could benefit with him due to his... experience. Of course he was nervous since he looked the way he did but I assured him that it was ok. The owner and I talked for a bit before we showed up so he was fully prepared to see Horror.