3 | REBEL

Màu nền
Font chữ
Font size
Chiều cao dòng

LAURA

'Hey, freshie. Jones wants you at his office in five.'

I shot up from the table, flustered that I'd been caught sleeping on my job. Shaking myself out of my daze, I glimpsed at the watch in my hand. Closing in on six and still no call from Eddie. Seriously, why the hell did he own a phone?

My onsite reporter job was a pain in the ass. I studied four years of journalism and two years of higher studies only to land here, and sleep off for three hours on the job. Apparently, 'newbies' couldn't be sent on the field until he or she gets enough experience working alongside other reporters. Like interns.

Eddie I could use, but it felt so weird to associate with him on every aspect of the day. Running behind him scribbling notes didn't exactly scream 'dating and happy' to me. I fought past his manipulative pestering to help me and worked things my own way. The feeble-minded and dull way. So this part was unlike me who was used to jumping into juice without checking its flavour. Which landed me in a cubicle with absolutely nothing to do except watch the door, expect someone to shout 'you're up for this!' and pop a party popper.

'H - yeah! Sure, I'll be there.'

Was my boss finally going to give me an opportunity of a lifetime? Ugh, I had to stop it with the pipedreams. Grabbing my coat and my heels, I rushed past oncoming obstacles such as buzzkill Ben and asshole Abby to get the elevator doors from closing. Thanking the lords, I got into the empty elevator and pushed the twenty-four button. By the time I reached my floor, my wavy hair was fluffed and my heels were on.

'Ms. Sharp?' 

'Mr. Jones,' I nodded and saw him look down at the popped open button on my blouse that exposed my tummy. I sheepishly hooked it back on. The light bounced off his buzzed off hair and the suit fit him flawlessly. For a forty-year-old man, he was killing it. 'You needed me?'

'Yes, I have some clarifications to make. Have a seat.'